Ordering Local with Foodler

Foodler Home Page

About two weeks ago, a good friend of mine sent me a message saying something along the lines of “Bloggers Wanted, You GET FREE FOOD.” Of course, I jumped at the opportunity. I sent out a message in response and voila! just a few days later and I’m writing a little review of my experience with Foodler, a website made for ordering delivery and takeout from local restaurants.

I admit, I ordered delivery a lot freshman year so this wasn’t my first experience with the site. I already have an account and even a few Foodler Bucks (more on those in a minute) saved up from the last time I used it. I decided that I was going to go all out — I had a huge midterm to study for and I knew I would need food to comfort me. My friend and I snuck out to a study room and ordered Popeye’s. I have absolutely no regrets.

Overall, my delivery was pretty quick and painless, but I’ve provided an overview in case you’re wondering how it all really works and a few suggestions for the future.

Ordering

Once you have an account with Foodler, all you need to do is type in an address and a few local restaurants will pop up.

Foodler Delivery Page

The website is a little cluttered (and looks outdated!), but it’s easy to navigate and choose what you want/don’t want.

Depending on the restaurant, you can get a certain percentage off or if you order from a more expensive place, you’ll most likely get more Foodler Bucks. Foodler Bucks are accumulated with each order you place and you can use them on your next order and pay less! Again, if you order takeout/delivery pretty frequently, this is a good deal. Also, it’s not hard to get Foodler Bucks. I’ve only ordered a couple times and I had already gotten enough to basically pay for my entire order. Pretty awesome in my opinion.

Foodler Menu Page

One Issue

I did have one tiny problem when I ordered my Popeye’s. I ordered large fries, but got a small. I called them, but they directed me to Foodler, since Foodler apparently handles all of the deliveries.

I called the number which was given to me in my receipt. I thought it was odd that they asked me to call Foodler. Foodler doesn’t make the food, Popeye’s does. But apparently any refunds need to go through them. Luckily, customer service was relatively fast and my account was credited right away.

Suggestions

For the future, I think a few of these suggestions would help boost Foodler’s popularity:

  1. Incorporate a better review system. I’m not sure how much I trust the reviews given on the site, because it looks outdated. I almost always Yelp the place I’m ordering from first. A nicer review system might encourage people to order more frequently.
  2. Clean up the layout. There is too much going on once I hit the menu page. It’s cluttered, there are coupons on the side, and it makes me confused. There are so many things happening that it distracts me from actually placing my order.
  3. Add the Delivery Fee First. Once I’m ready to order, the last thing I want to see is that  my delivery fee is going to be $6. I’ve definitely changed my order based on the fact that the delivery fee was outrageously high.

Again, on the whole, I really enjoyed my experience with Foodler — I just wanted to point out a few things that could be improved. These features certainly don’t make or break any of my final delivery choices, but I do think they would help make Foodler look more credible and easy-to-use and I will certainly be ordering from them in the future!

Have you ever used Foodler? What was your experience like? I would love to hear your thoughts!

Disclaimer: Foodler offered me 15 Foodler Bucks to blog about my experience. My opinions are my own and I have given an honest and unbiased review.

One thought on “Ordering Local with Foodler

Leave a Reply

