My 5 Favorite Marketing Tools for the New Year

Internet Tools

Via Flickr user steve_lodefink

I am one of those lucky college students who has an amazing internship. Everyday, I get to work on different projects, I meet new people, and I build on skills that will be useful for a real job (sorry BU, just knowing MS Office doesn’t cut it). That being said, I’ve mixed and matched quite a few different “tools” over the past year to see what works best and helps me cut time without cutting quality. If you do anything with content, you know that creating a buzz-worthy post always takes longer than expected. And if you do anything SEO related, you know that keeping track of contacts, websites and partnerships is a real pain in the ass.

If your work in the marketing world includes content, SEO, or social media (which if it doesn’t now, it will at some point), I highly recommend these 5 tools. Really though, they are lifesavers and make my everyday so much more enjoyable.

1. BuzzstreamI honestly cannot recommend Buzzstream enough. For someone who does link building everyday, this platform is a miracle worker. Not only does it manage all of your contacts and update them regularly, it also lets you categorize, set tasks, and e-mail them! Buzzstream’s software syncs with your Gmail account – so it even knows when you e-mail contacts and it will show up on your dashboard. Pretty cool.

You can check out their introductory video to see how it works and start a free trial. I can’t get enough of it!

2. BottlenoseWhen it comes to content, one of the first tips you will see on anyone’s list is to stay on top trends and use them to draw predictions. Bottlenose is a wonderful tool that allows anyone to do just that. It gives real-time updates on trending links, tweets, and pictures for any topic. Simply use the search tool and start listening to what your customers/readers are really talking about.

3. PixlrI admit, I do not own Photoshop. I know. It’s terrible. For a long time, anything design-related was out of my grasp. Which was a real let-down given the sudden boom of “visualization” in content thanks to things like Pinterest, Instagram, and the ever-so-adolescent Snapchat.

After a few weeks of no photo-editing capabilities, I found Pixlr and my world was rocked. Not only does it let you re-size images, it lets you add filters and make collages with a few simple clicks. And did I mention it’s free?

Pixlr Collage

Collage in 5 minutes. Boom.

4. KapostAn editorial calendar is essential for organized and consistent content marketing. We use Kapost at my internship and while I never paid too much attention to it at first, I now realize how seamless and easy-to-use this platform is. The calendar is simple and assigns authors to each post — even outside ones if you outsource some of your articles. Payments are also done through the platform which is especially useful when partnering with bloggers.

5. EvernoteMy co-worker has been raving about Evernote for a few months now and I finally decided to give it a try.(Trust me, after giving my e-mail out to about 100 + different tools and platforms, I only sign up if someone recommends it.)

I quickly came to the conclusion that I was an idiot for not jumping on the Evernote bandwagon earlier. Not only do I love the look and feel of the platform, I am obsessed with the fact that you can tag your notes. There have been countless times where I bookmark a site or write something down and I can never seem to find it when I need it.

For now, these are my go-to tools, but I’m always on the lookout for something new. What do you use? Am I missing anything? I would love to hear from any fellow marketers about the platforms/apps/add-ons that make work more efficient and enjoyable!

Leave a Reply

